Monday, May 19, 2014

Pejac "Sepukku" Limited Edition Screenprint


Spanish artist Pejac recently announced his first limited edition print release. Titled "Sepukku", these large size silkscreens are all hand finished, with watercolor painted flowers.
Staying true to his minimalist style we've seen in his street and gallery works, the image is showing a silhouette of a Samurai performing Sepukku aka Harakiri, using a Sakura branch. Even simple at a first glance, the piece is showing his impeccable feel for sending a sharp message. The finished image is symbolizing the eternal balance between good and bad on many levels - symbol of death Vs symbol of spring/life, heavy ink image Vs white paper space, dark character Vs light colored cherry blossom, etc.
This print will be released in an edition of 70, on a 102x73 cm Schoellershammer 4G, 250 gsm paper, and will come with embossed stamps, certificate of authenticity, signed and numbered by the artist. The print will be available @ Pejac.es on Wednesday May 28th at 6PM Spain (London 5PM, Paris 6PM, Los Angeles 9AM, New York 12PM).
Stay tuned for more info on street works, gallery show and future releases by this artist, and check out more preview images of the print after the jump.





No comments:

Post a Comment